Department of Sociology

Graduate Steering Committee

Tenured and tenure-track members of the Graduate Steering Committee are elected by the Graduate Studies Committee. Six tenured and two tenure-track members are typically elected for two-year, staggered terms.

The Graduate Steering Committee has two major tasks:
1) it oversees all aspects of the graduate curriculum and students' progress through the curriculum.
2) it is responsible for setting and applying standards for the admission of new graduate students.

2018-2019 GSC
Christine Williams, GSC chair
Javier Auyero
Shannon Cavanagh
Leticia Marteleto
Kelly Raley
Sharmila Rudrappa
Harel Shapira
Michael Young
Abby Weitzman

Ex-Officio (nonvoting members)
Rob Crosnoe, department chair
Ron Angel, associate graduate advisor - students
Ari Adut, associate GSC chair - instruction
Gloria Gonzalez-Lopez, minority liaison

  • Department of Sociology

    The University of Texas at Austin
    305 E 23rd St, A1700
    RLP 3.306
    Austin, TX 78712-1086