South Asia Institute
South Asia Institute

Student Directory

Search for people

Advertising


Sarah Fahim

MA student

sara.fahim14@gmail.com

Interests: Communication strategy & analysis, creativity in copywriting & advertising concepts, effects of advertising and mass communication on cultural diversity and tolerance

Anthropology


Photo of Krishantha Fedricks

Krishantha Fedricks

PhD student

kfedricks@hotmail.com |
5.114 SAC

Interests: Interests: Language, Religion and Media; Sinhala Language and Linguistics; Sri Lankan Buddhism; English to Sinhala translations.

Photo of Sardar Hussain

Sardar Hussain

PhD Student

shrana266@utexas.edu

Interests: City, Space and Place, Heritage, Gentrification, Everyday Life, the Ordinary

Colin Pace

PhD Student

colinpace@utexas.edu

Interests: Socio-cultural Anthropology, Northwest India

Aniruddhan Vasudevan

PhD candidate

aniruddhan@utexas.edu |
5.114 Student Activity Center (SAC)

Interests: Gender and Sexuality Politics in India, LGBTQ Rights Activism in Chennai, Theater and Dance, Ideologies of the Self respect Movement of Early 20th Century Tamil Nadu, Tamil to English Translations

Art History


Maryam Ohadi-Hamadani

Graduate student

maryam.ohadi@gmail.com

Education: M.A., Art History and Museum Studies, Case Western Reserve University

Interests: Post-war abstraction in Britain, postcolonialism, transnationalism during decolonization, history of immigration

Asian Studies


Sundas Amer

MA/PhD student

sundas.amer@utexas.edu

Interests: Urdu Literature, Persian/Farsi

Justin Ben-Hain

PhD student

jbenhain23@gmail.com

Interests: Vallabhite Vartas, Old Rajasthani Literature, Community formation, circulation of texts and ideas

Daniel Dillon

PhD candidate

ddillon154@utexas.edu

Education: B.A. Anthropology, Asian Religions and Cultures; M.A. Religious Studies, Western Kentucky University

Interests: Globalization, Mobility, the Tamil Ethnoscape, Religious & Ethnic Violence, Modernity, Gender & Sexuality (especially Masculinity), Visual Ethnography, Contemporary Sri Lanka

Hunter Gallacher

MA student

hunter.gallacher@utexas.edu

Interests: Sikhism and the Sikh Empire, modern Hindi, and water conservation and rights issues in South Asia

Nina Gat

PhD student

ninasgat@utexas.edu

Interests: Literatures of India with a special interest in the beginnings of modern Hindi literature; Classical Indian aesthetics; & Indian modernity as reflected in post-independence Hindi literature

Charlotte Giles

PhD candidate

charlotte.giles@utexas.edu

Interests: Indo-Islamic culture and history, Urdu literature, labor, home-based production and the textile industry

Andrea Gutierrez

PhD candidate

andreagutierrez@utexas.edu

Interests: Animal Studies and Animal Language, Foodways, Food Manuals, Cookbooks and Food Prescriptions, Hindu and Buddhist Studies, Sanskrit, Prakrits, and Tamil Language

Michael Jones

PhD candidate

theojijo@yahoo.com

Interests: Interaction of religion and agriculture in ancient India, especially in the Sanskrit corpus

Hillary Langberg

PhD candidate

hlangberg@utexas.edu

Interests: Interpreting Mahāyāna Indian Buddhism (Bodhisattva soteriology and ritual practices) through philological analyses of Sanskrit texts (ca. 2nd-7th centuries CE) and art historical analyses of ca. 6th-7th century CE Deccan sculpture; Study of goddess traditions in all phases of South Asian religious history; Pre-modern interactions between South Asian religious traditions.

Katie Lazarowicz

PhD candidate

k.lazarowicz@utexas.edu

Interests: Indian Folk art (Madhubani Painting, Mithila Art), Material Culture & Visual Studies, Development & Labor, Bihar, Hindi, Economics & Economic History 19th Century - present, Contemporary Indian Art, Religious and Spiritual Traditions of India, Jesuits in India.

Kathleen Longwaters

PhD Candidate

klongwaters@utexas.edu

Interests: Medical Traditions of South Asia, Sanskrit Language and Literature, Islamic Intellectual History, Urdu Poetry and Literature, Buddhist writings in Gandhari

Kathryn North

MA student

knnorth@utexas.edu

Interests: Second-language acquisition and identity in India, gender roles and women's issues in South Asia, South Asian history and culture

Joshua Orme

MA student

joshua.orme@gmail.com

Interests: Formation of South Asian nation-states, 20th century and contemporary geo-politics/international relations, modern sociopolitical issues, modern and pre-modern history, study of Hindi-Urdu and linguistic influence on nationalism/identity

Zeltzyn Rubi Sanchez Lozoya

PhD candidate

zrubisl@gmail.com

Interests: Hindi cinema, gender studies, queer theory, affect theory, censorship

Aaron Sherraden

PhD candidate

aaron.sherraden@gmail.com

Interests: Hindi, Malayalam, Sanskrit, Epic Literature of India and associated performance traditions.

Siddharth Sridhar

MA student

siddha.sridhar@gmail.com

Interests: The social and intellectual history of Tamil South India in the early modern and colonial periods; the social history of trade and migration in the Indian Ocean World

John Taylor

PhD student

john.m.taylor@utexas.edu

Interests: Classical Sanskrit literature, esp. the Mahabharata, ritual theory, gender & body theory, Indo-European linguistics.

Comparative Literature


Hamza Iqbal

PhD student

hmi4@utexas.edu

Education: MA, Honours Philosophy, University of St Andrews, UK

Interests: Long nineteenth century, Urdu Poetics, French Literature, Continental Philosophy, Postcolonial Theory, Psychoanalysis, Critical and Literary Theory

Education


Fiza Mairaj

MA student

fiza_mairaj_ali@live.com

Interests: Educational policy, International development, Non-profit sustainability and Teacher practices in a classroom

English


Photo of Meghan Gorman-Darif

Meghan Gorman-Darif

Graduate student

meghangormandarif@utexas.edu

Education: M.A., Breadloaf School of English, Middlebury College

Interests: Representations of the Naxalite and Maoist movements in contemporary literature

Ethnomusicology


Aruna Kharod

MA/PhD student

akharod@utexas.edu

Interests: Sitar

History


Photo of Sandy Chang

Sandy Chang

PhD candidate

sandy.chang@utexas.edu

Education: MA, The University of British Columbia

Interests: British Empire; Colonial South & Southeast Asia; Chinese Diaspora; Gender and Sexuality; Inter-Asia Mobilities and Connections

International Relations


Journalism


Paromita Pain

PhD Student

paromita.pain@gmail.com

Education: MA Specialized Journalism, University of Southern California

Interests: Participatory media process, Citizen’s journalism,Women’s empowerment via mobile technologies

Linguistics


Justin Power

PhD student

justin.power@utexas.edu

Education: MA Linguistics, University of North Dakota

Radio, Television & Film


Nabeeha Chaudhary

PhD Student

chaudhnz@utexas.edu

Education: MA, International Studies, University of Washington

Interests: Television in Pakistan, Changing representations of women in entertainment media, Interconnections between Cultural/Entertainment Media, Women’s Issues, and Education, Regional focus on South Asia, particularly Pakistan

Jacob Hustedt

PhD Student

jhustedt@gmail.com

Education: MA, University of Sussex

Interests: Growth of urban centers of information technology in India and simultaneous emergence of LGBT activist organizations, Confluence of queer theory, New media theory, Theories of diaspora and the new global city.

Swapnil Rai

PhD Candidate

swapnilrai@utexas.edu

Education: MA (Cinematic Arts), Southern Methodist University

Interests: Media Globalization, Indian Cinema, Media Convergence, BRICS, Network Society

Religious Studies


Katherine Sanchez

MA/PhD student

katsanch@utexas.edu

Interests: Religions and Society | Religion in the Americas | Contemporary Islam in the United States | Religion and Popular Culture

Social Work


Swathi Reddy

PhD student

smreddy@utexas.edu

Education: M.A. Social Work, University of Chicago

Interests: Immigrant Children exposed to Interpersonal Violence, Intergenerational conflict in transnational families, Cultural perspectives on mental health. Effects of acculturation on South Asian immigrants

Sociology


Vrinda Marwah

PhD student

vrinda.marwah@utexas.edu

Education: MA, London School of Economics and Political Science

Interests: Reproductive health and technologies, Gender, Sexuality, Race and Ethnicity, Qualitative Methodology, Contemporary India, Social Movements, Law and Policy, State

Beth Prosnitz

PhD student

bprosnitz@utexas.edu

Education: MA, The New School

Interests: Political Sociology, Social Movements, Citizenship, Gender