John L Warfield Center

COMMUNITY IN ACTION - Black Austin Re-Membered

Tuesday, December 5, 2017 • 5:30 PM

Gordon-White Building (GWB) 2.206

Austin’s Black Westside: A Look at The Clarksville, Kincheoneville, And Wheatville Communities

PICA 36042B: Sweet Home Baptist Church's congregation, Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

COMMUNITY IN ACTION - Zumbi

Thursday, January 4, 2018 • 9:30 AM


COMMUNITY IN ACTION - Annual Martin Luther King Community March

Monday, January 15, 2018 • 9:00 AM

MLK Statue – The University of Texas


#BLACKREPRESENTS - Notes on Sugar: Works by Magdalena Caompos-Pons

Wednesday, January 17, 2018 • 12:00 PM

Christian-Green Gallery; 201 E. 21st Austin, TX 78701

Art Exhibition


#BlackRepresents: SEEN & UNSEEN: A Sunday Afternoon in Clarksville

Wednesday, January 17, 2018 • 1:00 PM

The IDEA Lab, Gordon-White Building (GWB) 2.204

Art Exhibition Clarksville

PICA 36042B: Sweet Home Baptist Church's congregation, Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

#BLACKREPRESENTS - Notes on Sugar: Works by Maria Magdalena Campos-Pons

Thursday, January 25, 2018 • 5:30 PM

Christian-Green Gallery; 201 E. 21st Austin, TX 78701

Gallery Opening & Reception


#BLACKREPRESENTS - Performing Blackness Series

Friday, January 26, 2018

Gordon-White Building (GWB) 2.206

Patterson Joseph, Actor


COMMUNITY IN ACTION - Zumbi

Thursday, February 1, 2018 • 9:30 AM


Gallery Opening and Reception SEEN and UNSEEN: A Sunday Afternoon in Clarksville

Thursday, February 8, 2018 • 5:30 PM

The IDEA LAB, Gordon-White Building (GWB) 2.204

Art Exhibition Opening & Reception

PICA 36042B: Sweet Home Baptist Church's congregation, Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

COMMUNITY IN ACTION - Zumbi

Thursday, March 1, 2018 • 9:30 AM


LECTURE SERIES - Diaspora Talk

Monday, March 19, 2018 • 3:00 PM

Gordon-White Building (GWB) 2.206

Dr. Jasmine Johnson, Assistant Professor Department of Theatre Arts and Performance Studies Brown University


COMMUNITY IN ACTION - Zumbi

Thursday, April 5, 2018 • 9:30 AM


LECTURE SERIES - Diaspora Talk

Monday, April 9, 2018 • 3:00 PM

Gordon-White Building (GWB)2.206

Dr. Carter Mathes, Associate ProfessorDepartment of English Associate Director of Undergraduate Programs Rutgers School of Arts and Sciences


Annual Event: Peace & Justice Day Black Austin Re-Membered: Clarksville Then and Now

Tuesday, May 1, 2018 • 5:30 PM

Haskell House 1703 Waterston Ave

PICA 36042B: Sweet Home Baptist Church's congregation, Austin History Center, Austin Public Library

COMMUNITY IN ACTION - Zumbi

Thursday, May 3, 2018 • 9:30 AM