Plan II Honors Logo
Plan II Honors

The Plan II Honors Chad Oliver Teaching Award

Every year, professors from various UT departments teach special courses for Plan II, sponsor Plan II theses, and review freshman applications. These professors regularly sacrifice their time and energies for the Plan II program, and yet they receive little recognition for their services. As a gesture of our appreciation to the Plan II faculty, our student body annually presents the Chad Oliver Award.

Formerly known as the Plan II Teaching Award, the prize was first awarded in 1990 to Chad Oliver, who was a graduate of Plan II in the Harry Ransom years and later, for many years, a much-loved professor in Social Science 301. On his retirement, students voted to name the award for him. This honor has recognized one outstanding professor each year for his or her excellence in teaching and dedication to Plan II. Each year, the Chad Oliver Teaching award recipient is announced at the spring Plan II Honors Graduation Convocation.

Chad Oliver Award Honorees:

  • 1989-1990 S. Chad Oliver, Anthropology
  • 1990-1991 Janet A. Meisel, History
  • 1991-1992 Robert H. Kane, Philosophy
  • 1992-1993 Larry Carver, English
  • 1993-1994 Patricia S. Kruppa, History
  • 1994-1995 Mia Carter, English
  • 1995-1996 Joseph Maloff, English
  • 1996-1997 Michael Starbird, Math
  • 1997-1998 Robert C. Solomon, Philosophy
  • 1998-1999 Chuck Rossman, English
  • 1999-2000 Austin Gleeson, Physics
  • 2000-2001 David Kendrick, Economics
  • 2001-2002 Elizabeth Richmond-Garza, English
  • 2002-2003 Alan Friedman, English
  • 2003-2004 Wendy Domjan, Psychology
  • 2004-2005 Thomas G. Palaima, Classics
  • 2005-2006 James Loehlin, English
  • 2006-2007 Marjorie “Jorie” Woods, English
  • 2007-2008 Aloysius “Al” Martinich, Philosophy
  • 2008-2009 Moon Draper, Biology
  • 2009-2010 James Vick, Math
  • 2010-2011 James Garrison, English
  • 2011-2012 Ruth Buskirk, Biology
  • 2012-2013 Jerome Bump, English
  • 2013-2014 Neville Hoad, English
  • 2014-2015 Allen MacDuffie, English
  • 2015-2016 Paul Woodruff, Philosophy
  • 2016-2017 Wayne Rebhorn, English
  • 2017-2018 George Christian, English

  •   Map
  • Plan II Honors Program

    University of Texas at Austin
    305 East 23rd St
    RLP 2.102
    Austin, Texas, 78712-1250