Department of Psychology
Department of Psychology
Search for people

Tenure and Tenure Track


Photo of Jennifer Beer

Jennifer Beer

Professor

beer@utexas.edu |
(512) 471-3224 |
SEA 3.208

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Interests: Social neuroscience, self, emotion, and social cognition

Photo of Christopher G Beevers

Christopher G Beevers

Professor and Director of the Institute for Mental Health Research

beevers@utexas.edu |
(512) 232-3706 |
RLP (formerly CLA) 4.528

Education: Ph.D., University of Miami

Interests: Etiology, maintenance, and treatment of unipolar depression in adults

Photo of David M Buss

David M Buss

Professor

dbuss@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 475-8489 |
SEA 3.228

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Interests: Evolutionary psychology, human mating strategies, conflict between the sexes, sexual victimization, prestige, status, and reputation, jealousy, stalking, and murder

Photo of Caryn L Carlson

Caryn L Carlson

Professor

caryn.carlson@utexas.edu |
(512) 475-8493 |
SEA 3.230

Education: Ph.D., University of Georgia

Interests: Well-Being

Photo of Frances Champagne

Frances Champagne

Professor and Associate Chair for Faculty and Student Affairs

fchampagne@utexas.edu |
(512) 232-3401 |
SEA 4.212A

Education: Ph.D., McGill University

Interests: Gene-environment interplay, developmental trajectories, epigenetic inheritance, social neuroscience

Photo of Jessica Church-Lang

Jessica Church-Lang

Associate Professor

church@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7009 |
SEA 2.216

Education: Ph.D., Washington University at St. Louis

Interests: brain networks, development of task control, development of reading, developmental disorders, neuroimaging, puberty

Photo of Lawrence K Cormack

Lawrence K Cormack

Professor

cormack@utexas.edu |
(512) 471-5380 |
SEA 4.228

Education: Ph.D., University of California at Berkeley

Interests: Visual System; Natural Scene Statistics; Data Analysis and Visualization

Photo of James Curley

James Curley

Associate Professor

curley@utexas.edu |
SEA 5.248

Education: Ph.D., University of Cambridge

Interests: Social Dynamics, Social Neuroscience, Social Networks, R Programming

Photo of Kaya de Barbaro

Kaya de Barbaro

Assistant Professor

kaya@austin.utexas.edu |
CLA 4.520

Education: Ph.D., University of California San Diego

Interests: behavior, social interactions, development, dynamical systems theory, mobile sensing, machine learning, mental health

Photo of Yvon Delville

Yvon Delville

Professor

delville@utexas.edu |
(512) 232-5731 |
SEA 5.234

Education: Ph.D., University of Massachusetts at Amherst

Interests: Behavioral Neuroendocrinology, Neuroanatomy, Neuropharmacology, Neurotoxicology, and Neuronal Plasticity

Photo of Juan M Dominguez

Juan M Dominguez

Professor

dominguez@utexas.edu |
(512) 232-8050 |
SEA 5.252

Education: Ph.D., The State University of New York at Buffalo

Interests: The neural-endocrine regulation of motivated behaviors and associated disorders like addiction; using mating behavior as a prototypic model to better understand motivation and associated disorders, especially the neuroendocrinological factors that regulate depression and addiction; the neuroendocrine underpinnings of gender differences in response to drugs of abuse

Photo of Michael P Domjan

Michael P Domjan

Professor

domjan@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 471-7702 |
SEA 4.232

Education: Ph.D., McMaster University

Interests: Basic behavioral mechanisms of learning, Pavlovian conditioning, evolutionary constraints on learning, and learning and other psychological processes in music

Photo of Catharine H Echols

Catharine H Echols

Associate Professor

echols@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 471-4879 |
SEA 5.220

Education: Ph.D., University of Illinois

Interests: Language development

Photo of Kim Fromme

Kim Fromme

Professor

fromme@utexas.edu |
(512) 471-0039 |
SEA 3.242

Education: Ph.D., University of Washington

Interests: Individual, genetic, and environmental influences on alcohol use; other externalizing behaviors; and psychological disorders

Photo of Andrew Gaudet

Andrew Gaudet

Assistant Professor

andrew.gaudet@utexas.edu |
SEA 5.230

Education: Ph.D., University of British Columbia

Interests: Neuroinflammation; biological clocks; metabolism; axon plasticity; behavior; spinal cord injury

Photo of Bertram Gawronski

Bertram Gawronski

Professor

gawronski@utexas.edu |
512-471-7520 |
SEA 3.216

Education: Ph.D., Humboldt University Berlin (Germany)

Interests: Social Cognition, Attitudes, Decision-Making, Moral Psychology, Meta-Theory, Psychological Measurement

Photo of Wilson S Geisler III

Wilson S Geisler III

David Wechsler Regents Chair

w.geisler@utexas.edu |
(512) 471-5380 |
SEA 4.328A

Education: PhD, Indiana University

Interests: Vision, mathematical psychology, and computer vision

Photo of David L Gilden

David L Gilden

Professor

gilden@utexas.edu |
(512) 471-6584 |
SEA 3.244 and SEA 5.118

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Cognition and perception

Photo of Francisco Gonzalez-Lima

Francisco Gonzalez-Lima

George I. Sanchez Centennial Professorship

gonzalezlima@utexas.edu |
(512) 475-8497 |
SEA 3.236

Education: Ph.D., University of Puerto Rico School of Medicine

Interests: Behavioral Neuroscience, Psychobiology, Learning and Memory, Functional Neuroimaging, Brain Stimulation. PROSPECTIVE STUDENTS: I would like to recruit a new Ph.D. student interested in neurocognitive enhancement and mental health.

Photo of Robbe Goris

Robbe Goris

Assistant Professor

robbe.goris@utexas.edu |
SEA 4.202

Education: Ph.D., KU Leuven

Photo of Samuel D Gosling

Samuel D Gosling

Professor

samg@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 471-1628 |
SEA 3.224

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Interests: Interpersonal perception, personality and temperament in non-human animals, and internet research methods

Photo of Zenzi M. Griffin

Zenzi M. Griffin

Professor

zgriffin@utexas.edu |
(512) 232-8062 |
SEA 5.214

Education: Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Interests: Language Production, Speech Errors, Personal Names, and Psycholinguistics

Photo of Andreana P Haley

Andreana P Haley

Professor & Director of Clinical Training

haley@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 232-0863 |
SEA 3.238

Education: Ph.D., University of Virginia

Interests: aging, cognition, neurobiology, neuroimaging (MRI, MRS, fMRI)

Photo of Kathryn Paige Harden

Kathryn Paige Harden

Associate Professor

harden@utexas.edu |
(512) 471-1124 |
SEA 3.246

Education: Ph.D., University of Virginia

Interests: Behavioral genetics, sociogenomics, cognitive development, adolescent development, externalizing psychopathology

Photo of Mary M Hayhoe

Mary M Hayhoe

Professor

hayhoe@utexas.edu |
(512) 475-9338 |
SEA 4.234

Education: Ph.D., University of California, San Diego

Photo of Marlone D Henderson

Marlone D Henderson

Associate Professor

marlone.henderson@utexas.edu |
(512) 471-6447 |
SEA 4.224

Education: Ph.D., New York University

Photo of Charles J Holahan

Charles J Holahan

Professor

holahan@utexas.edu |
(512) 471-3320 |
SEA 3.202

Education: Ph.D., University of Massachusetts, Amherst

Interests: Health Psychology, Stress and Coping, Addictive Behaviors

Photo of Alexander C Huk

Alexander C Huk

Director [Center for Perceptual Systems], Raymond Dickson Centennial Professor (#2)

huk@utexas.edu |
(512) 232-5729 |
SEA 4.238

Education: Ph.D., Stanford University

Photo of Theresa A Jones

Theresa A Jones

Professor

tj@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 232-1814 |
SEA 6.106

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Neural plasticity across the lifespan, motor skill learning, mechanisms of brain and behavioral adaptation to brain damage, and glial-neuronal interactions

Photo of Robert A Josephs

Robert A Josephs

Professor

bob.josephs@utexas.edu |
(512) 471-9788 |
SEA 3.204

Education: Ph.D., University of Michigan

Interests: Clinical Neuroendocrinology

Photo of Hongjoo (Joanne) Lee

Hongjoo (Joanne) Lee

Associate Professor

leehj@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 232-8055 |
SEA 6.108

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Interests: Roles of amygdala-dopamine systems in learning and memory

Photo of Cristine H Legare

Cristine H Legare

Professor

legare@austin.utexas.edu |
SEA 5.216

Education: Ph.D., University of Michigan

Interests: Cognitive science, cognitive development, cultural learning, international education, global public health, STEM education

Photo of Marc S Lewis

Marc S Lewis

Associate Professor

lewis@utexas.edu |
(512) 796-9314 |
SEA 3.252

Education: Ph.D., University of Cincinnati

Photo of Jarrod A Lewis-Peacock

Jarrod A Lewis-Peacock

Associate Professor

jalewpea@utexas.edu |
(512) 232-2149 |
SEA 2.222

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison

Interests: Cognitive control, memory, functional neuroimaging, real-time neurofeedback

Photo of Arthur B Markman

Arthur B Markman

Annabel Irion Worsham Centennial Professor

markman@utexas.edu |
(512) 232-4645 |
SEA 5.218, IC2 2nd floor

Education: Ph.D., University of Illinois

Interests: Similarity and analogy, categorization, decision making and consumer behavior, and knowledge representation

Photo of Cindy M Meston

Cindy M Meston

Professor

meston@psy.utexas.edu |
(512) 232-4644 |
SEA 3.232

Education: Ph.D., University of British Columbia

Interests: Sexual psychophysiology (vaginal photoplethysmography), sexual function/dysfunction, women's sexual arousal, the relation between sexual abuse and sexual function

Photo of Marie H Monfils

Marie H Monfils

Professor and Associate Chair for Research and Operations

marie.monfils@utexas.edu |
(512) 471-4139 |
SEA 6.104

Education: Ph.D., University of Lethbridge

Interests: Fear conditioning, learning, memory, consolidation, extinction, reconsolidation, synaptic plasticity, and long-term potentiation

Photo of Ian Nauhaus

Ian Nauhaus

Assistant Professor

nauhaus@utexas.edu |
(512) 232-1923

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles

Interests: Visual cortex, two-photon imaging, intrinsic signal imaging, electrophysiology, optogenetics, circuits, functional architecture, population codes

Photo of Linda Noble

Linda Noble

Professor

linda.noble@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 495-5250 |
SEA 5.226

Education: Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles

Interests: Matrix metalloproteinases and immune-based mechanisms as determinants of long-term recovery after pediatric brain and spinal cord injuries and environmental factors that shape recovery processes.

Photo of Caitlin Orsini

Caitlin Orsini

Assistant Professor

caitlin.orsini@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-5745 |
SEA 5.240

Education: Ph.D., University of Michigan

Interests: neuroendocrinology, decision making and executive function, substance use, long term impact of stress on behavior and the brain

Photo of James W Pennebaker

James W Pennebaker

Regents Centennial Professor

pennebaker@utexas.edu |
(512) 232-2781 |
SEA 3.212

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Natural language and social behavior; group processes and educational outcomes; how individuals, groups, and cultures respond to traumatic events

Photo of Franco Pestilli

Franco Pestilli

Associate Professor

pestilli@utexas.edu |
SEA 5.104

Education: Ph.D., New York University

Interests: vision science, attention, motivation, learning, aging, brain anatomy, white matter, computational modelling, neuroinformatics

Photo of Alison R Preston

Alison R Preston

Dr. A. Wilson Nolle and Sir Raghunath P. Mahendroo Professor | Interim Vice President for Research

apreston@utexas.edu |
(512) 475-7255 |
NHB 3.352

Education: Ph.D., Stanford University

Interests: Cognitive neuroscience of memory, memory development in children and adolescence, functional neuroimaging

Photo of Manuel Ramirez III

Manuel Ramirez III

Professor

ramirezm@utexas.edu |
(512) 475-7012 |
SEA 5.206

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Multicultural personality development and psychotherapy, the dynamics of the U.S.-Mexico borderlands and mental health of borderlanders and the relation of cultural values to family dynamics, Previous research interests--person perception and verbal learning

Photo of David M Schnyer

David M Schnyer

Professor and Department of Psychology Chair

schnyer@utexas.edu |
(512) 475-8499 |
SEA 4.212

Education: Ph.D., University of Arizona

Interests: The neurocognitive basis of human mental phenomenon

Photo of Eyal Seidemann

Eyal Seidemann

Professor

eyal@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 232-6052 |
SEA 4.204

Education: Ph.D., Stanford University

Interests: Neural basis of visual perception and visually guided behavior, Optical imaging and novel neurophysiological techniques, and Computational neuroscience

Photo of Jasper Smits

Jasper Smits

Professor and Department Liaison for Medical Affairs

smits@utexas.edu |
512-475-8095 |
RLP 4.522

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Development and evaluation of interventions for anxiety and related problems

Photo of William B Swann

William B Swann

Professor

Swann@utexas.edu |
(512) 471-3859 |
SEA 3.106

Education: Ph. D., University of Minnesota

Interests: The self, relationships and group processes, including questions such as why people engage in extreme behaviors such as terrorism. Self and identity, group behavior, interpersonal relationships and person perception

Photo of Michael J Telch

Michael J Telch

Professor

telch@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 475-8488 |
SEA 3.102

Education: Ph.D., Stanford University

Interests: PTSD, agrophobia, anxiety and phobic disorders, behavioral medicine, behavioral therapies, cognitive processes of behavior change, and therapy outcome evaluation

Photo of Katharine Tillman

Katharine Tillman

Assistant Professor

ktillman@utexas.edu |
SEA 5.224

Education: Ph.D., University of California, San Diego

Interests: cognitive development, concepts, language and thought, psychology of time

Photo of Elliot Tucker-Drob

Elliot Tucker-Drob

Professor

tuckerdrob@utexas.edu |
(512) 232-4225 |
SEA 4.218

Education: Ph.D., University of Virginia

Interests: individual differences, behavioral and psychiatric genetics, cognitive development, cognitive aging, academic achievement, personality, social inequality

Photo of Jacqueline D Woolley

Jacqueline D Woolley

Professor

woolley@austin.utexas.edu |
(512) 471-5196 |
SEA 5.232

Education: Ph.D., University of Michigan

Interests: Conceptual development in preschool and elementary school children, concept of mind, religious cognition, and the fantasy-reality distinction

Photo of David S Yeager

David S Yeager

Associate Professor

dyeager@utexas.edu |
512-471-1846 |
SEA 5.104

Education: Ph.D., Stanford University

Interests: Social-cognitive development, Motivation, Aggression, Adolescence, Research methodology, and Psychological interventions

Photo of Chen Yu

Chen Yu

Charles and Sarah Seay Regents Professor of Developmental Psychology

chen.yu@austin.utexas.edu |
SEA 4.230

Education: Ph.D., University of Rochester

Interests: Development and Learning, Language Acquisition, Perception and Action, Visual Attention, Social Interaction, Computer Vision, Machine Learning


  •   Map
  • Department of Psychology

    The University of Texas at Austin
    SEA 4.208
    108 E. Dean Keeton Stop A8000
    Austin, TX 78712-1043
    512-471-1157