College of Liberal Arts

2014 Pro Bene Meritis Award Recipients

Thu, Jan 16, 2014

AUSTIN, Texas – The College of Liberal Arts is proud to announce the 2014 Pro Bene Meritis Award recipients. Robert Henry Dedman, Jr., James Garrison and Judith Perkins were chosen for their outstanding service to the college.

Robert Henry Dedman, Jr. is president and CEO of DFI Management, Ltd. and General Partner of Putterboy, Ltd.  He is a steadfast supporter of liberal arts students through the Dedman Distinguished Scholars Program, a four-year, merit-based scholarship program that has funded 132 outstanding scholars at UT Austin since 1989.  As president of the Dedman Foundation, his contributions have allowed the university to compete with elite private universities and the best public universities to attract the brightest and most ambitious students in the country.

James Garrison, is the Archibald A. Hill Regents Professor in American and English Literature and University Distinguished Teaching Professor at UT Austin. Garrison served as former chair of the Department of English, and is known for his dedication to the university and student success. He is author if numerous publications, including two books on the poetry of John Dryden.

Judith Perkins is a longtime supporter and ambassador of the College of Liberal Arts. She serves as an active and passionate member of the College of Liberal Arts Development Council, the Liberal Arts Honors Campaign Committee and has been a driving force in support of the Shakespeare at Winedale Program.  

The Pro Bene Meritis awards were first granted in 1984 to honor individuals who are committed to the liberal arts, who have made outstanding contributions in professional or philanthropic pursuits and who have participated in service related to the College of Liberal Arts at The University of Texas.


Bookmark and Share