College of Liberal Arts

College of Liberal Arts Awards Eight Dedman Distinguished Scholarships to Incoming Freshmen

Mon, Apr 22, 2013

AUSTIN, Texas — The College of Liberal Arts at The University of Texas at Austin has honored eight incoming students with a Dedman Distinguished Scholarship, which provides full scholarships covering tuition, books, room and board, study abroad and internship opportunities.

Thanks to an additional $5 million gift from Nancy Dedman and The Dedman Foundation, selected liberal arts undergraduates will receive awards of up to $20,000 per year, plus one-time awards of up to $7,500 for study abroad, and additional support for unpaid internships and thesis research.

 The Dedman Scholars for the Class of 2017 are:

  • Jessica Bathea (Frisco) Psychology/Liberal Arts Honors
  • Annie Biondi (Houston) Social Work/Plan II Honors
  • Logan Crossley (Plano) International Relations and Global Studies/Plan II Honors
  • Nicolas Gatz (Lake Travis) Spanish and Portuguese/Liberal Arts Honors
  • Michelle Guajardo (Mission) Music/Plan II Honors
  • Trevor Heise (Weatherford) Economics/Plan II Honors
  • Shane Rowley (Lufkin) Petroleum Engineering/Plan II Honors
  • Jennifer Yang (League City) English/Liberal Arts Honors

“These students represent the best and brightest of their peers," said Larry Carver, director of the Liberal Arts Honors Program. "They will contribute greatly to our community during the next four years and beyond."

Fifteen finalists were chosen from the top applicants to the Plan II and Liberal Arts Honors programs. In making their decisions, committee members considered academic achievement, personal characteristics, leadership and accomplishments.

The Dedman Distinguished Scholars Endowment was first established in June 1986. It honors Robert and Nancy Dedman of Dallas whose $10 million gift funded the endowment, which has since grown in value. To date, their gift has supported 132 Dedman scholars.

Bookmark and Share