Slavic and Eurasian Studies
Search for people

Professors


Photo of Robert Moser

Robert Moser

Professor

rmoser@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-7278 |
BAT 4.148

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin

Photo of Joan Neuberger

Joan Neuberger

Professor

neuberger@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7219 |
GAR 2.102

Education: Ph.D., 1985, Stanford University

Photo of Mary Neuburger

Mary Neuburger

Professor, Department Chair, Director of CREEES

burgerm@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-3607 |
BUR 452

Education: Ph.D., 1997, University of Washington

Interests: Southeastern Europe, Bulgaria, food history, urban culture, consumption, gender, identity

Associate Professors


Photo of Craig Campbell

Craig Campbell

Associate Professor, Associate Director of CREEES

craig.campbell@utexas.edu |
512-232-4342 |
SAC 4.122

Education: Ph.D., University of Alberta

Interests: Siberia, Central Siberia, Indigenous Siberians, Evenki, Evenkiia, Reindeer hunting and herding, Travel and mobility, Socialist colonialism, early forms of Sovietization. Visual and intermedia ethnography

Photo of Thomas Garza

Thomas Garza

University Distinguished Teaching Associate Professor and Director, Texas Language Center

tjgarza@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-9126 |
BUR 458

Education: Ed.D., Harvard University, 1987

Interests: Russian language teaching methodology/ Applied linguistics/ Contemporary Russian culture/ The Chechen wars and the media/ Post-Soviet youth culture/ Language teaching pedagogy/ Russian popular culture/ Modern Russian language/ Contemporary Russian media

Photo of Tatjana Lichtenstein

Tatjana Lichtenstein

Associate Professor; Director, Schusterman Center for Jewish Studies

lichtens@austin.utexas.edu |
737-701-0600 |
GAR 0.110/RLP 2.402C

Education: Ph.D. 2009, University of Toronto, Canada

Photo of Keith Livers

Keith Livers

Associate Professor

kalivers@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-9128 |
BUR 468

Education: Ph.D., University of Michigan

Photo of Charters Wynn

Charters Wynn

Associate Professor

wynn@utexas.edu |
512-475-7234 |
GAR 1.120

Education: Ph.D., 1987, Stanford University

Assistant Professors


Photo of Vladislav Beronja

Vladislav Beronja

Assistant Professor

vladberonja@utexas.edu |
BUR462

Education: PhD, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Interests: Bosnian, Croatian, & Serbian Literature and Visual Arts, Memory & Trauma Studies, Heritage Industry & Exhibition Culture, Balkan Popular Culture, Queer Theory

Photo of Petre Petrov

Petre Petrov

Assistant Professor, Graduate Advisor

petrov@utexas.edu |
(512) 232-9130 |
BUR 486

Education: Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh

Interests: Russian and Western modernism; socialist realism; Stalinist culture; Soviet language and ideology; theory of ideology; Marxism; critical theory

Senior Lecturers


Photo of Marina Alexandrova (Potoplyak)

Marina Alexandrova (Potoplyak)

Senior Lecturer

marina.alexandrova@utexas.edu |
(512) 232-9193 |
BUR 466

Education: PhD, UT Austin

Interests: History of Political and Cultural Dissent in Russia, Russian Revolutionary Movements, Russian Modernism and Avant-Garde, Pedagogy and Instructional Technology, Russian Food History

Lecturers


Photo of Christian Hilchey

Christian Hilchey

Lecturer

hilchey@utexas.edu |
BUR 472

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests: Language pedagogy, Czech instructional material development, Texas Czech communities, food culture, Czech linguistics, verbal prefixes, Czech dialects

Photo of Bella B. Jordan

Bella B. Jordan

Lecturer

belka@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-9127 |
BUR 470

Education: Ph.D., UT Austin

Interests: History, travel, architecture

Photo of Bernadeta Kaminska

Bernadeta Kaminska

Lecturer

BernadetaKaminska@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-9133 |
BUR 580

Education: M.A., Adam Mickiewicz University Poznań (Poland)

Interests: I like to travel, read, watch foreign films, do yoga.

Photo of Oksana Lutsyshyna

Oksana Lutsyshyna

Lecturer

lutsyshyna@austin.utexas.edu |
BUR 478

Education: Ph.D., University of Georgia

Interests: Ukrainian Modernism, Bruno Schulz, Walter Benjamin, Roland Barthes, Postcolonial Theory/Decolonization, Queer Theory, Feminist Theory, Applied Linguistics, Language teaching methodology

Photo of Heather R Rice

Heather R Rice

Lecturer

hrrice@utexas.edu |
512-232-6913 |
MEZ 3.316

Education: Ph.D., Indiana University

Interests: Russian language pedagogy, creating Russian language instructional materials, 2nd language acquisition, phonetics and phonology, Russian and Soviet cinema

Photo of Jason Roberts

Jason Roberts

Lecturer

j.roberts@utexas.edu |
(512) 232-9125 |
BUR 474

Education: PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Intellectual history of confessional theology including discourses of demonology and magic, representations of time and space in systems of divination, Siberian shamanism, Russian Orthodoxy.

Photo of Evgenia Wilkins

Evgenia Wilkins

Lecturer

evimikha@utexas.edu |
BUR 482

Education: Ph.D. UT Austin, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Metadiscourse, interaction, intercorporeality, conversation analysis, study abroad, discourse analysis, the use of technology in language classes

Professors Emeriti


Photo of John Kolsti

John Kolsti

Professor Emeritus

jkolsti@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-3607 |
CAL 415

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Photo of Sidney Monas

Sidney Monas

Professor Emeritus

smonas@mail.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University

Photo of Gilbert Rappaport

Gilbert Rappaport

Professor Emeritus

grapp@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., UCLA

Photo of Seth Wolitz

Seth Wolitz

Professor Emeritus

slwolitz@mail.utexas.edu |
512 471 5531 |
HRH 3.114A

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Other faculty


Photo of Leslie O'Bell

Leslie O'Bell

Associate Professor, Retired

lobell@utexas.edu |
(512) 472-5080

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University