Slavic and Eurasian Studies
Search for people
Photo of Paul Adams

Paul Adams

Master's candidate

paul.dow.adams@utexas.edu |
5125087708

Education: MFA in Literature and Creative Writing, Texas State University

Interests: Literature and Culture of Southeastern Europe, (Mis)use of Ancient and Medieval History in Constructing Modern Ethnic Identities, Ethnic and Group Identity in Hellenistic, Byzantine, and Ottoman Southeastern Europe, Bosnian-Croatian-Serbian language(s)

Cullan Bendig

Graduate student

Photo of Jacquelyn Andrea Chorush

Jacquelyn Andrea Chorush

Master's candidate

jchorush@utexas.edu

Interests: Russian | Transnational Organized Crime and Globalization in Southeastern Eastern Europe | Impact of Cooperative Enterprises on Enfranchisement of Marginalized Communities | Cryptocurrency | Anonymous and Hacktivism | Research and Advocacy relating to the Prevention of Sexual and Domestic Violence

Photo of Ellery Cushman

Ellery Cushman

Master's candidate

egcushman@gmail.com

Interests: Ethnic violence and Genocide Studies, Humanitarian Interventions, National Security, Rise of Populism in Eastern Europe, Sources of Instability

Photo of Michelle Daniel

Michelle Daniel

Master's candidate

michelle.daniel@utexas.edu |
BUR 582

Education: Bachelor of Music in Composition, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Radio Broadcasting to the Soviet Union in the 20th century | Russian Geopolitics | 19th and 20th century Russian composers and writers | Modern Russian-Middle East relations | Counterterrorism in the Russian sphere of influence | Russia-China relations and the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation | Post-Soviet defense and intelligence | Russian political ideology and history

Photo of Aleksej Demjanski

Aleksej Demjanski

Master's Candidate

demjanskia@utexas.edu

Education: B.A. in International Affairs and Political Science, The George Washington University

Interests: Balkans, corruption, democracy, and social movements

Photo of Alexandra Ni Guerrero

Alexandra Ni Guerrero

Master's candidate

aguerrero@utexas.edu

Education: B.A. in Psychology and Russian Studies, UCLA

Interests: National Security | U.S. - Russia politics | Central Asia

Photo of Tracy Heim

Tracy Heim

Master's candidate

tracyheim@utexas.edu

Education: Bachelor of Arts in Music with a minor in Russian, East European, and Eurasian Studies, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Czech, Russian, music, brass instruments, economics, global policy, geopolitics, business development

Photo of Morgan Henson

Morgan Henson

Master's candidate

morgan_henson16@utexas.edu

Education: B.A. in History, Fordham University

Interests: Soviet History, Russian/Ukrainian/Soviet Culture, Ethnic Studies, Anthropology, Sociology

Alexandra Jovanovic

Graduate student

Photo of Michael Jurkovic

Michael Jurkovic

Master's candidate

mzjurkovic@utexas.edu

Education: BA, History and Language Studies, UC Santa Cruz

Interests: Yugoslavia, Croatia, Bosnian Croatian Serbian languages, Russia, Russian language, Russian and Soviet History, ethnic identity, nationalism, Cold War, Eastern European film

Nicholas Laznovsky

Graduate student

Photo of Matthew Orr

Matthew Orr

Master's candidate

matthew_orr@utexas.edu

Education: B.A. in Russian Language and Literature, The George Washington University

Interests: Civic Education in Russia, Democratization in the Post-Soviet Space, Contemporary Russian Literature, US-Russian Relations

Terry Orr

Graduate student

terry.orr@utexas.edu

Photo of Thomas Rehnquist

Thomas Rehnquist

Master's candidate

Education: B.A. History, Bowdoin College

Interests: Russian and Soviet History, Soviet Politics, U.S. Foreign Policy, Film, Basketball

Photo of Nikidrea Rey

Nikidrea Rey

Master's candidate

nikidrea.rey@utexas.edu

Education: B.A. International Studies - International Relations with a focus on Global Political Economies, Chaminade University of Honolulu

Interests: Soviet history | U.S.- Russia Defense Cooperation | Russian culture and sphere of influence | Security and stability in post-Soviet States

Photo of Audrius Rickus

Audrius Rickus

Master's candidate

audrius.rickus@utexas.edu

Education: Master in Economic Law, Sciences Po Paris - Paris Institute of Political Studies

Interests: Social and Cultural History of the Soviet Union, the Baltic States, Theories of Colonialism, Ethnic Relations, Cultural Studies

Valerie Toropin

Graduate student

Theodore Warner

Graduate student

Photo of Katherina Wierschke

Katherina Wierschke

Master's candidate

kwierschke@utexas.edu |
BUR 584

Education: B.A. in English Literature and Creative Writing, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Interests: Ethnic Conflict in the Post-Communist Space, Migration Studies, Postcolonial Studies, Russian Foreign Policy, and Relations between Russia and Latin America

Photo of Lucia Winkeler

Lucia Winkeler

Master's candidate

Lucia.Winkeler@utexas.edu

Education: B.A. of International Studies (Politics and Diplomacy focus) and Modern Languages (Russian), Texas A&M University

Interests: U.S. foreign policy; U.S.-Russian relations; Russian relations to its near abroad; South Caucasus region; international security

Kathryn Yegorov-Crate

Graduate student