College of Liberal Arts

Seven Liberal Arts Seniors Receive George H. Mitchell Student Awards for Academic Excellence

Wed, May 5, 2010

AUSTIN, Texas — John Meyer, a senior majoring in English and government, has won the $20,000 grand prize in the 11th annual University Co-op George H. Mitchell Awards for Academic Excellence for undergraduate students at The University of Texas at Austin. The winners were announced Wednesday, April 28 at the Four Seasons Hotel in Austin.

The University Co-op awards celebrate and reward undergraduate students who have demonstrated unparalleled dedication and achievement in their fields of study.

Meyer was nominated by James Loehlin, the Shakespeare At Winedale Regents Professor and Distinguished Teaching Professor, for his original play "American Volunteers,” which draws directly from his own experience as a soldier in Afghanistan.

James Hammond, English and psychology senior, received the $5,000 second prize.

The five winners of the $2,000 awards were Grace Eckhoff, biology and Plan II senior; Keeley Steenson, radio-television-film and Plan II senior; Kathleen Skinner, English and history senior, Anthony Wright, anthropology senior and Om J. Neeley, business honors, corporate finance and Plan II senior.

The Mitchell Award is named for George H. Mitchell, president and CEO of the University Co-op and is a token of his dedication to serve The University of Texas at Austin in the best possible way.


Bookmark and Share