skip to contentThe University of Texas at Austin

Staff Excellence Award

In 1985, the College established an annual staff awards program to honor outstanding staff members. The winners of the award will receive a cash award and a framed certificate signed by the Dean.

In response to overwhelming requests, this year the College will also include awards recognizing excellence among all ranks of staff, including team members and supervisors. Feel free to nominate supervisors that have also demonstrated the criteria of excellence recognized by this award!

Nominate a deserving staff member by completing the nomination form.

Congratulations to the 2020 Staff Excellence Award Winners!

  • Courtney Meador, Senior Administrative Program Coordinator, History
  • Matthew Rabatin, Senior Program and Outreach Coordinator, Center for European Studies
  • Kevin Hsu, Senior Administrative Associate, Sociology
  • Agnes Sekowski, Assistant Director, Slavic/CREES
  • Susan Castillo, Course Scheduler, English
  • Lindsey Jamieson, Program Coordinator, Portuguese Flagship Program
  • Thomas Fawcett, Graduate Coordinator, Anthropolgy
  • Rachel White, Public Affairs Representative, Office of Public Affairs
  • Lindsay Murphy, Grants and Contracts Specialist, Psychology
  • Megan Conner, Academic Advising Coordinator, Student Division


  • All staff, including Classified and A&P are eligible; awards will be given for “outstanding staff” and “outstanding supervisor.”
  • Cannot have won the award in the past 3 years.
  • Must work at least 20 hours per week and have been in current role for at least 1 year.
  • Cannot have any documented performance issues, including any Performance Improvement Plans since the last performance review cycle.

Nomination Guidelines

  • Recognition of exceptional impact on the College and/or the University.
  • Demonstrated exceptional collaboration, innovation, and relationship bridging between multiple departments, schools, or units.
  • Exceptional contributions towards supporting diversity, flexibility, and a positive workplace culture.
  • Acting as a champion of volunteerism and service within the College and/or University.
  • Significantly improve processes in systems, customer interaction, or efficiency in their workplace.
  • Consistently perform at a level above meeting job expectations.
  • Winners will not be selected by the number of nominations, but by the content of the nomination.

Recent Recipients (not eligible)

Tony Araguz, Jenna Bacorn, Andrew Beachum, Susan Castillo, Megan Conner, Thomas Fawcett, Andrea Golden, Kristen Hotopp, Kevin Hsu, Lindsey Jamieson, Stephanie Kaufman, Victor Martínez, Crystal McCallon, Courtney Meador, Rachel Meyer, Lindsay Murphy, Liz Myrick, Matthew Rabatin, Agnes Sekowski, Rachel White, Adrienne Witzel

Previous Excellence Award winners from 1995-present