The Department of French and Italian
Search for people

French Linguistics


Photo of Tracey Adams

Tracey Adams

Assistant Intructor

traceygadams@utexas.edu |
HRH 4.168

Education: B.A. in French, B.A. in Linguistics, University of Florida

Interests: Bilingualism, Language Contact, Sociolinguistics

David Barny

Assistant Instructor

dgbarny@gmail.com |
HRH 4.102C

Education: M.A. in English, American Civilization concentration, Université d'Orléans, Orléans, France

Photo of Joshua Griffiths

Joshua Griffiths

Walther Fellow

j.griffiths@utexas.edu |
512-471-7407 |
HRH 4.170

Education: M.A. in French Linguistics, UT Austin

Interests: Phonology, Corpus Phonology, Second Language Phonetics and Phonology

Photo of Karina High

Karina High

Assistant Instructor

khigh@utexas.edu |
512-471-9618 |
HRH 4.148

Education: M.A. French, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Comparative and Diachronic Romance Linguistics; Language Variation and Contact; Grammaticalization; Sociolinguistics.

Photo of Brendon Kaufman

Brendon Kaufman

Assistant Instructor

bkaufman@utexas.edu |
HRH 4.144

Education: M.A. in French Linguistics, UT Austin

Interests: Sociolinguistics, Language Attitudes and Ideology, Language Variation

Photo of James Law

James Law

Assistant Instructor

jimlaw@utexas.edu |
512-471-9427 |
HRH 4.142

Interests: Lexical semantics; cognitive linguistics; historical corpus linguistics

Photo of Fanny Macé

Fanny Macé

Walther Scholar 2017-2018

fmace@utexas.edu |
HRH 4.110

Education: M.Ed. (Master Enseignement), Teaching English as a Second Language, Université de Tours

Interests: Critical Discourse Analysis, Semantics, New Media & Digital Culture, Political Communication, Interdiscursivity

Photo of Elizabeth Mayne

Elizabeth Mayne

Assistant Instructor

elizabeth.anne.mayne@gmail.com |
512-471-8458 |
HRH 4.128

Education: MA in French Linguistics, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Interests: pragmatics, second language acquisition, memetics, semiotics, computer-mediated communication

Photo of Rozen Neupane

Rozen Neupane

Assistant Instructor

rneupane@utexas.edu |
512-471-9636 |
HRH 4.150

Education: M.A. French, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Sociolinguistics, language contact, Québec, South Asian languages, computational linguistics, language planning and policies

Rachel Poulin

Graduate student

rachel.poulin@utexas.edu |
HRH 4.102A

Education: B.A. in French and Francophone Studies; B.A. in Global Studies, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Photo of Marylise Rilliard

Marylise Rilliard

Assistant Instructor

mrilliard@utexas.edu |
512-471-8771 |
HRH 4.102C

Education: M.A. in English Studies, Université Lumière Lyon 2, France

Interests: Sociolinguistics, Bilingualism, Language Contact, Language Variation, Second Language Acquisition

French Studies


Photo of Andrea Blatz

Andrea Blatz

Assistant Instructor

andreablatz@utexas.edu |
HRH 4.130

Education: B.A. in French and Linguistics, Colgate University

Interests: North Africa, Postcolonialism, early cinema

Photo of Stephanie Brynes

Stephanie Brynes

Assistant Instructor

stephaniebrynes@gmail.com |
512-471-5390 |
HRH 4.158

Education: M.A. in French Studies, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: modernist literature, women's literature, autofiction, and questions of memory, gender, and identity

Photo of Valentin Duquet

Valentin Duquet

Walther Fellow

vduquet@utexas.edu |
HRH 4.102A

Education: M.A. in French Studies, Syracuse University

Interests: Frenchness & Islam; postcolonial Maghreb & Middle East; contemporary French politics; film & new media.

Photo of Sarah Le Pichon

Sarah Le Pichon

Assistant Instructor

lepichonsarah@gmail.com |
HRH 2.114 (main office)

Education: MA French, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: 19th century; epistolarity; life writing; trauma-informed teaching; inclusive pedagogies; critical pedagogy

Photo of Maxence Leconte

Maxence Leconte

Assistant Instructor

mpl642@utexas.edu |
512-471-8540 |
HRH 4.134

Education: M.A in French Studies, The University of Texas at Austin, B.A in European History, Université Catholique de Lille.

Interests: 19th and early 20th century literature; spectacular realities, modernity and sport culture in France.

Emily Martin

Walther Fellow

emily.martin@utexas.edu

Education: M.F.A. in Poetry, Columbia University

Kathleen Nelson

Walther Fellow

katenelson@utexas.edu

Education: M.A. in French and Francophone Studies, California State University, Long Beach

Heather Sanders

Graduate student

hdsanders@utexas.edu

Education: M.A. in French Language and Literature, Boston College

Photo of Ashley Voeks

Ashley Voeks

Ph.D. Candidate | Assistant Instructor

amvoeks@utexas.edu |
HRH 4.116

Education: M.A. in French Literature, Wayne State University

Interests: Early Modern French Literature and Culture; The French Wars of Religion; Rhetoric and Poetics; Theater and Performance; Digital Humanities

Keith Wagner

Walther Fellow

keith.wagner89@gmail.com

Education: B.A. in Modern Languages, MSU (Denver)

Amelia Wells

2016-2017 Walther Fellow

512-471-8682 |
HRH 4.102A

Photo of Laetitia Zembski

Laetitia Zembski

PhD Candidate / Walther Fellow

lzembski@utexas.edu |
(512) 471-8250 |
HRH 4.126

Education: M.A. Romance Languages-French Literature & Civilization / M.A. Spanish Literature, University of New Orleans

Interests: 19th Century Lit./ Courtesans in French Literature, Culture and Arts / WGS/ Autobiography/ Memoirs / French Fashion

Italian Studies


Arianna Avalle

OGS Distinguished Fellow

arianna.avalle@utexas.edu |
HRH 4.132

Education: B.B.A. in Marketing with a minor in European Studies, Texas Tech University

Interests: Women Writers and Migration, Media Convergence and Gender Studies

Francesca Beretta

Assistant Instructor

francesca.beretta@utexas.edu

Education: M.A. in Language and Linguistics, Lancaster University, UK

Photo of Robert Bucci

Robert Bucci

Assistant Instructor

robert.bucci@utexas.edu |
512-471-8628 |
HRH 4.154

Education: M.A. in Italian Literary and Cultural Studies, University of Connecticut

Interests: Dante, Ecocriticism, Aesthetics, Medieval and Early Modern Italian Literature, Leopardi

Photo of Amanda Bush

Amanda Bush

Assistant Instructor

amanda.bush@utexas.edu |
512-495-6393 |
HRH 4.174

Education: MA Italian Studies- New York University, BA Italian Studies, English Literature- John Cabot University

Interests: 20th Century Literature, Post War Cinema, Southern Italy, Gender Studies, Dialects

Photo of Guido Capaccioli

Guido Capaccioli

Assistant Instructor

gucapaccioli@utexas.edu |
HRH 4.176

Education: Laurea Magistrale, Università degli Studi di Firenze

Photo of Vanessa Fanelli

Vanessa Fanelli

Assistant Instructor

vanessa_fanelli@utexas.edu |
512-471-9464 |
HRH 4.140

Education: Laurea Triennale, Università degli Studi di Milano

Interests: Italian cinema, women and gender studies, gender inequality, and modern Italian panorama

Photo of Samuel Gaglio

Samuel Gaglio

Assistant Instructor

samgaglio@utexas.edu |
512-475-6438 |
HRH 4.156

Education: M.A. Italian Studies, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Italo Calvino, Postmodernism, Postwar Italy, Pedagogy

Photo of Altina Hoti

Altina Hoti

Ph.D. Candidate, Assistant Instructor

altina.hoti@gmail.com |
401-924-4771 |
HRH 4.172

Education: M.A.in Italian Studies, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Nineteenth-century nationalism and feminism in Italy and the Balkans; the writings of Dora D’Istria; Arbereshe literature; Catholic and Muslim religious orders and nineteenth -century Italian and Albanian nation-state formation; Ottoman literature; gender and science in early-modern Venice; Italian neorealist films; gender discourse and violence in 20th century film.

Pasquale Palmieri

Ph.D. Candidate, OGS Fellow

pasquale.palmieri@utexas.edu

Interests: Early Modern History and Culture, Book History and Print Culture, Early Modern Italian Literature, Eighteenth-Century European Culture

Claudia Pisano

Teaching Assistant

claudia.pisano@utexas.edu |
HRH 4.178

Education: M.A. in European, American, and Postcolonial Languages and Literatures, Ca' Foscari University of Venice

Valerio Rossi

Teaching Assistant

valerio.rossi@utexas.edu |
HRH 4.138

Education: M.A. in Cultural Enhancement of the Territory and the Landscape, Universita degli Studi di Milano & Universita degli Studi di Genova; B.A. in History, Universita degli Studi di Milano

Photo of Elisa Valentini

Elisa Valentini

Assistant Instructor

elisa.valentini@utexas.edu |
512-475-6408 |
HRH 4.152

Education: Master of Arts in International Cooperation, Protection of Human Rights and Cultural Heritage in the Mediterranean Sea and Eurasia, Alma Mater Studiorum Università di Bologna (Italy)

Interests: Early 20th century avant-garde, Italian Futurism, Futurist art and literature, early 20th century Italian cultural and scientific history

Photo of Patrick Vilim

Patrick Vilim

Assistant Instructor

vilim@utexas.edu |
512-475-9461 |
HRH 4.182

Education: STB Theology, Università Gregoriana, Rome, ITALY, MA Italian Studies, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Medieval Italian cultural & religious history, Francis of Assisi, Boccaccio's Decameron, Italian cinema, Italian identity, and Italian nationalism


  • Department of French and Italian

    University of Texas at Austin
    201 W 21st Street STOP B7600
    HRH 2.114A
    Austin, TX 78712-1800
    512-471-5531