The Department of French and Italian
Search for people

French Linguistics


Photo of Tracey Adams

Tracey Adams

Assistant Instructor

traceygadams@utexas.edu |
HRH 4.168

Education: M.A. in French Linguistics, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Bilingualism, Language Contact, Sociolinguistics, Phonetics

Photo of David Barny

David Barny

Assistant Instructor

dgbarny@gmail.com |
HRH 4.114C

Education: M.A. in the Teaching of Languages (MATL), concentrationin French, The University of Southern Mississippi

Interests: French as a Foreign Language, Intercultural and L2 Pragmatics, Computer Assisted Language Learning (CALL), Digital Game-Based Language Learning (DGBLL)

Photo of Genevieve Ferrier-Rainey

Genevieve Ferrier-Rainey

Walther Fellow

ferrierraineygene@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D French Linguistics, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Intercultural and L2 Pragmatics; French as a Second Language; Sociolinguistics; Language Contact

Photo of Karina High

Karina High

Assistant Instructor

khigh@utexas.edu |
512-471-9618 |
HRH 4.148

Education: M.A. French, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Comparative and Diachronic Romance Linguistics; Language Variation and Contact; Grammaticalization; Sociolinguistics.

Nicolas Mireles

Walther Fellow

Photo of Rachel Poulin

Rachel Poulin

Graduate student

rachel.poulin@utexas.edu |
HRH 4.104

Education: M.A. French, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Bilingualism, Second Language Acquisition, Language Processing, Executive Control, Psycholinguistics, Language Contact, Language Variation, Sociolinguistics

Photo of Marylise Rilliard

Marylise Rilliard

Assistant Instructor

mrilliard@utexas.edu |
512-471-8771 |
HRH 4.102C

Education: M.A. in English Studies, Université Lumière Lyon 2, France

Interests: Sociolinguistics, Bilingualism, Language Contact, Language Variation, Second Language Acquisition

Photo of Liron Shlesinger

Liron Shlesinger

Graduate student

lirons@utexas.edu

Education: B.A. in French; B.A. in Integrative Biology, University of California, Berkeley

Interests: Psycholinguistics, Neurolinguistics, Second Language Acquisition, Bilingualism, Phonetics

Photo of Lamia Trifi

Lamia Trifi

Assistant Instructor

latrifi@utexas.edu

Education: M.A. in Linguistics and TESOL, West Virginia University

Interests: Phonology, Sociophonetics, Sociolinguistics, Bilingual First Language Acquisition

French Studies


Photo of Andrea Blatz

Andrea Blatz

Assistant Instructor

andreablatz@utexas.edu |
HRH 4.130

Education: M.A. in French Studies, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: science fiction, translation, space and place, ecocriticism

Photo of Julia Burgin

Julia Burgin

Walther Fellow

jeburgin@utexas.edu

Education: M.A. in French Literature, University of Florida

Interests: 19th century, romanticism, literature and the visual arts, jewish studies, orientalism, early colonial history

Photo of Molly Deaver

Molly Deaver

Graduate student

Photo of Valentin Duquet

Valentin Duquet

Graduate student

vduquet@utexas.edu

Education: M.A. in French & Francophone Studies, Syracuse University

Interests: Travel Literature & Orientalism; Saint-Simonianism; Naturalism; Politics, Economics & Religion

Photo of Noemie Hamaide

Noemie Hamaide

Graduate student

noemie.hamaide@utexas.edu

Education: M.A in French Literature, Texas Tech University

Interests: 20th and 21st French literature, roman de gare, urban spaces, graphic novels

Photo of Sarah Le Pichon

Sarah Le Pichon

Assistant Instructor

lepichonsarah@gmail.com |
HRH 2.114 (main office)

Education: MA French, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: 19th century; epistolarity; life writing; trauma-informed teaching; inclusive pedagogies; critical pedagogy

Photo of Emily Martin

Emily Martin

Walther Fellow

emily.martin@utexas.edu

Education: M.F.A in Poetry and Translation, Columbia University

Interests: 20th and 21st Century Literature; Poetry, Short Prose Forms, and Hybrid Genres; Cinema; Translation; Literature and Linguistics

Kathleen Nelson

Assistant Instructor

katenelson@utexas.edu

Education: M.A. in French and Francophone Studies, California State University, Long Beach

Interests: 19th-21st Century, Literature of North Africa and the Banlieue, Francophone Cinema, Women and Gender Studies, Diversity & Equity in Higher Education, Second Language Pedagogy

Photo of Kevin P. Nonin

Kevin P. Nonin

Graduate student

kpnonin@utexas.edu

Interests: Long nineteenth century, romanticism and realism, nation-building, sociology of culture, transclasses

Heather Sanders

Graduate student

hdsanders@utexas.edu

Education: M.A. in French Language and Literature, Boston College

Interests: 19th and 20th century literature; cinema; literary theory; narratology; adaptation studies; genre studies

Photo of Keith Wagner

Keith Wagner

Graduate Student

keith.wagner@utexas.edu |
720-297-9030 |
HRH 4.116

Education: M.A. in French Studies, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: fin de siècle culture, urban studies, architectural history, 19th century French literature, translation studies, Franco-Romanian relations

Amelia Wells

Assistant Instructor, 2016-2017 Walther Fellow

512-471-8682 |
HRH 4.102A

Italian Studies


Photo of Arianna Avalle

Arianna Avalle

Assistant Instructor

arianna.avalle@utexas.edu |
HRH 4.132

Education: B.B.A. in Marketing with a minor in European Studies, Texas Tech University

Interests: Literary, Media-induced and Virtual Tourism, Travel Literature, Media Convergence, Transmedia Storytelling, Women's studies and Destination Marketing

Francesca Beretta

Assistant Instructor

francesca.beretta@utexas.edu

Education: M.A. in Language and Linguistics, Lancaster University, UK

Photo of Robert Bucci

Robert Bucci

Assistant Instructor

robert.bucci@utexas.edu |
512-471-8628 |
HRH 4.154

Education: M.A. in Italian Literary and Cultural Studies, University of Connecticut

Interests: Dante, Ecocriticism, Aesthetics, Medieval and Early Modern Italian Literature, Leopardi

Photo of Guido Capaccioli

Guido Capaccioli

Assistant Instructor

gucapaccioli@utexas.edu |
HRH 4.176

Education: Laurea Magistrale, Università degli Studi di Firenze

Magda Ivette Collazo Simonet

OGS Fellow

magda.collazo@utexas.edu

Education: M.A. in Italian, University of Notre Dame; B.A. in Anthropology, Forensic Science, and Italian Language, Literature, and Culture, Syracuse University

Interests: Luigi Pirandello, Perceptions of Humanity, Theater, Italian cinema, Women's studies, Anthropology, Criminal Justice and Forensics

Photo of Vanessa Fanelli

Vanessa Fanelli

Assistant Instructor

vanessa_fanelli@utexas.edu |
HRH 4.140

Education: Laurea Triennale, Università degli Studi di Milano

Interests: Italian cinema, women and gender studies, gender inequality, sexual violence, violence, and modern Italian panorama

Photo of Carlos Devin Fernandez

Carlos Devin Fernandez

Graduate student

cdf19@utexas.edu |
HRH 4.170

Education: M.A. in Italian Studies, B.A. in Greek and Latin, Florida State University

Interests: Thirteenth and Fourteenth Century Italian Literature, History, and Culture; Dante Studies; The 'Questione della lingua;' The Classical Tradition in Medieval and Renaissance Italy; Historical Romance Linguistics; Ancient and Medieval Warfare

Photo of Samuel Gaglio

Samuel Gaglio

Ph.D Candidate

samgaglio@utexas.edu |
512-475-6438 |
HRH 4.156

Education: M.A. Italian Studies, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Italo Calvino, Posthumanism, Ecocriticism, Animal Ontology in the Humanities, Pedagogy

Photo of Dylan Gilbert

Dylan Gilbert

Graduate student

dylan.gilbert@utexas.edu |
HRH 4.166

Education: M.A. in Italian Studies, B.A. in History of Art and Architecture and Russian, Middlebury College

Interests: Visual Representations of Southern Italy, Photography, Matera, Anni di piombo, Environmental Disasters, Nuclear Anxieties, Second Language Acquisition

Pasquale Palmieri

Ph.D. Candidate, OGS Fellow

pasquale.palmieri@utexas.edu

Interests: Early Modern History and Culture, Book History and Print Culture, Early Modern Italian Literature, Eighteenth-Century European Culture

Photo of Claudia Pisano

Claudia Pisano

Assistant Instructor

claudia.pisano@utexas.edu |
HRH 4.178

Education: M.A. in European, American, and Postcolonial Languages and Literatures, Ca' Foscari University of Venice

Photo of Valerio Rossi

Valerio Rossi

Assistant Instructor

valerio.rossi@utexas.edu |
HRH 4.138

Education: M. A. in Geography, Università degli Studi di Milano & Università degli Studi di Genova; B.A. in History, Università degli Studi di Milano

Interests: 19th century Italian and European Literature, Comparative literature, Visual culture, Aesthetics, Picturesque, Travel Literature, Orientalism, Space and Landscape

Photo of Elisa Valentini

Elisa Valentini

Ph.D. Candidate

elisa.valentini@utexas.edu |
512-475-6408 |
HRH 4.152

Education: M.A. in Protection of Human Rights and Cultural Heritage in the Mediterranean Region and Eurasia, University of Bologna (Italy); M.A. in Italian Studies, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Early Twentieth-Century Italian Cultural and Scientific History, Early Twentieth-Century Avant-Garde, Italian Futurism, Ardengo Soffici

Photo of Patrick Vilim

Patrick Vilim

Assistant Instructor

vilim@utexas.edu |
512-475-9461 |
HRH 4.182

Education: STB Theology, Università Gregoriana, Rome, ITALY, MA Italian Studies, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Medieval Italian cultural & religious history, Francis of Assisi, Boccaccio's Decameron, Italian cinema, Italian identity, and Italian nationalism


  • Department of French and Italian

    University of Texas at Austin
    201 W 21st Street STOP B7600
    HRH 2.114A
    Austin, TX 78712-1800
    512-471-5531