Department of Psychology
Department of Psychology

Awards 2021


Faculty | StudentsStaff


Archives:  Awards 2020  |  Awards 2019  |  Awards 2018  |  Awards 2017  |  Awards 2016  |  Awards 2015  |  Awards 2014  |  Awards 2013  |  Awards 2012  |  Awards 2011



Prof. Bertram Gawronski Awarded The Diener Award in Social Psychology

Congratulations to Bertram Gawronski, who was awarded the Carol and Ed Diener Award in Social Psychology. This award is designed to recognize a mid-career scholar whose work has added substantially to the body of knowledge to the social psychology field and brings together personality psychology and social psychology. Read more about the award here. (12/1/2021)

Prof. Jenni Beer Named Fellow of the Association for Psychological Science

A big congratulations to Jenni Beer for being named a Fellow of the Association for Psychological Science. This is a well-deserved recognition of her work and career. Read more in the latest issue of the Observer here. (11/2/2021)

Prof. Zenzi Griffin Elected to The Psychonomic Society Governing Board

"It is my distinct pleasure to welcome Myra Fernandes and Zenzi Griffin to the Psychonomic Society Governing Board," said Duane Watson, who has served as Chair of the Governing Board since January 1, 2021. "Their leadership and insights are sure to strengthen the Society's programming and benefit cognitive psychologists from around the world. On behalf of the Governing Board and the Society's 5,600+ members, welcome!" (9/14/2021)

Drs. Ann Repp, James Curley, and Hongjoo (Joanne) Lee Receive the 2020-2021 Dr. Wendy Domjan Excellence in Teaching Award

Congratulations to the 2020-2021 recipients of the Dr. Wendy Domjan Department of Psychology Excellence in Teaching Award – Dr. Ann Repp, Dr. James Curley, and Dr. Hongjoo (Joanne) Lee! (3/10/2021)

Prof. James Curley Recognized as Affordable Education Champion

Professor James Curley recognized as an Affordable Education Champion. The Senate of College Councils and UT Libraries solicited nominations from students across campus to recognize faculty positively affecting educational access by choosing free or low cost materials for their courses. Dr. Curley completed his own online open source textbook last summer, and he uses that and other free online resources to teach PSY 317L, Introduction to Statistics for Behavioral Sciences. (3/9/2021)



Recent Psychology Graduate Sanaz Talaifar Receives The 2020 SPSP Student Publication Award

Dr. Talaifar worked in collaboration with other departmental authors including Dr. Pennebaker, graduate students Ashwini Ashokkumar and Nick Medrano, Dr. Yeager, and Dr. Swann on the 2021 publication titled, A new pathway to university retention? Identity fusion with university predicts retention independently of grades. The SPSP Publication Award Committee was impressed by this work being well-grounded in theory and the use of very large national samples for predicting and potentially increasing university retention in STEM areas. (8/31/2021)

Senior Destiny Gonzales Takes First Place in the 2021 Texas Research Showdown 

Psychology senior Destiny Gonzales has been awarded first place in the 2021 Texas Research Showdown. She presented her research on the effects of musical earworms and their potential for comparison to intrusive thoughts. Destiny works in Dr. Jarrod Lewis-Peacock's cognitive neuroscience lab. (4/12/2021)



Barb Landberg Awarded the Department of Psychology Staff Excellence Award for 2020-21

We are thrilled to announce that Barbara Landberg has been awarded the Department of Psychology Staff Excellence Award for 2020-21!  The nominations in support of Barb unanimously praised her for going above and beyond, especially throughout this challenging year of transitions. We are grateful for Barbara’s dedication to the department and the exceptional work she performs every day! (4/6/2021)

Avani Chhaya Awarded College of Liberal Arts Staff Excellence Award

We are thrilled to announce that Avani Chhaya has been awarded the 2021 College of Liberal Arts Staff Excellence Award!  Avani joined the department in 2016 as the Outreach Program Coordinator for the Children’s Research Center, and in 2019 she transitioned to a dual role that included both her outreach work with the CRC and the role of Clinical Area Coordinator.  This fall, Avani’s position shifted again to include both outreach coordination and the role of department Communications Coordinator.  Through all of these transitions, Avani has proven herself to be eminently capable, professional, and a tremendous asset to the department.  The Department of Psychology congratulates Avani on this well-deserved honor! (12/17/2021)


  •   Map
  • Department of Psychology

    The University of Texas at Austin
    SEA 4.208
    108 E. Dean Keeton Stop A8000
    Austin, TX 78712-1043