tlc wordmark
tlc logo

Slavic and Eurasian Studies


The Department of Slavic and Eurasian Studies offers instruction in Bosnian/Croatian/Montenegrin/Serbian, Bulgarian, Czech, Polish, Romanian, Russian, Ukrainian, and Yakut (Sakha)

Language minors are available in Russian language, Czech language, Polish language, Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian, and other Slavic languages. 

Scholarships and study abroad opportunities are available.

Watch this video to meet the instructors and see what courses and funding opportunities are offered by the department.


These are mutually-intelligible national variants of the Serbo-Croatian language, and have approximately 21 million native speakers. As Croatian, it is an official language of the European Union, and is a recognized minority language in Austria, Hungary, Italy, Romania, Slovakia, the Czech Republic and Macedonia. 


Bulgarian has approximately 9 million native speakers, primarily in Bulgaria. It is the official language of Bulgaria and an official language of the European Union, as well as being a recognized minority language in several surrounding countries. 


Spoken by over 10 million people, Czech is the official language of the Czech Republic and an official language of the European Union. The language has high mutual intelligibility with Slovak. Large numbers of immigrants to several states have meant that dialects of the language continue to be spoken in the US, including in Texas.


Spoken by 45 million native speakers and a further 5 million second-language speakers, primarily in Poland but also in the Czech Republic, Hungary, Lithuania, Solvakia, Ukraine, and across the world, Polish is an official language of the European Union. Polish has the largest number of speakers of the West Slavic group, and is the second most widely-spoken Slavic language, after Russian. Historically, Polis was a major diplomatic and academic language.


Romanian is a Balkan Romance language spoken by around 25 million native speakers, mainly in Romania and Moldova. It is an official language of the European Union, and a recognized minority language in Hungary and Ukraine. 


Russian is an official language in RussiaBelarusKazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan, and is used throughout Eastern Europe, the Baltic, and Central Asia. It has approximately 150 million native speakers - making it the largest native language in Europe - and a further 110 million second-language speakers. It is an official language of the United Nations, the second most widespread language on the internet (after English), and a notable literary language.


Ukrainian is an official language of Ukraine with approximately 35 million native speakers, and is a recognized minority language in several neighboring countries. The language has some mutual intelligibility with Russian and Belarusian.

Yakut (Sakha)

Yakut is a Turkik language with around 450,000 native speakers, and is spoken by the Yakuts in Sakha, a federal republic in the Russian Federation. It is also spoken by a small diaspora in other parts of Russia, Turkey, and the rest of the world.

Study Abroad

Language program:
No lanaguage required:

Foreign Language and Area Studies (FLAS) Fellowships

The Center for Russian, East European and Eurasian Studies is also an awarding center for FLAS fellowships to support language study. Here, Matthew Rabatin, Senior Program and Outreach Coordinator for the Center for European Studies, talks through the opportunities and requirements of FLAS in the context of European Studies.

Department Scholarships

Course Offerings for Summer 2020

  • REE F325 - Rebels/Revolution in Russian History/Literature
    Offered with Dr. Marina Alexandrova

Interested in learning more? Why not try the BBC's "Quick Fix" in Bosnian, Bulgarian, Czech, Polish, Russian, Serbian, or Ukranian

  • Texas Language Center

    University of Texas at Austin
    2505 University Ave, B7800
    BUR 572
    Austin, Texas 78712-1085